Reflections from Kilimanjaro…


20140808_173432
View from Barafu Hut 

Last Sunday marks a very special anniversary in which I turned the impossible into possible and reached the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro, the world’s highest free standing mountain. I am feeling the energy from the climb as I look back at a challenging but beautiful journey on the mountain. On some level, I still don’t think my mind has fully registered the scale of what I did and I’m not sure if it ever will but I wanted to take a moment to celebrate this achievement. Sometimes in life I think it’s good to take a moment and breathe it all in (no pun intended) and see the light and beauty that is always around us.

There was a time I couldn’t have even comprehended the thought of doing this. It has been a big lesson for me in realising that dreams can come true and life can be better than you could have imagined it to be. It was a huge deal to commit to this climb after just overcoming a serious illness that took over my life for six years. During that time doctors told me there was no hope for a cure and I knew the moment I healed myself from this, I wanted to do something big. I could feel it inside my body calling me near. Little did I know that it would call me to the top of Africa.

What I experienced on the seven day trek turned out to be very representative of my life and what I endured and overcame. The climb forced me to reach into parts of myself that I didn’t know were there. It taught me that there are so many possibilities to life if we remain open and pure to our intentions. It taught me that beauty is in the overcoming and in that overcoming you can access more of who you are and who you have always been.

Faith will take you everywhere….

Despite having support all around me which included a friend that climbed the mountain with me, I still doubted myself constantly. I found the trek a struggle from day one. I was already tired before beginning and started feeling the effects of the altitude early on in the trek. My friend and I decided that we would focus on getting to each camp every day. We would acknowledge our success in reaching each one and this helped quite a lot.

Even so, I think the summit must have been at the back of my mind somewhere. It wasn’t until arriving at Barafu Hut (camp 5) that something shifted for me. The picture I have shared above is the moment I felt this shift. I took the photo with my phone as I sat on a big rock outside our tent in deep contemplation. This was in the early evening right before we were to begin our ascent to the summit (at midnight). The view of the clouds was so phenomenal and I wanted to take it in. I wanted to feel into the experience and soulfully connect.

As I did this a wave of love and appreciation came over me through all of the experiences that brought me to this point. I thought to myself that if I could heal myself from my illness, then I could do this. I finally found the inner strength I needed for the first time in the entire trek. I saw myself on the summit and I kept this image with me during the 7 hour walk towards it.

I wanted to leave you with a poem I wrote during my time of deep contemplation at Barafu Hut. With the spectacular view of the clouds all around me, it inspired my soul to write this and I am so happy to share this moment with you. Here it is:

High, high above the sky
White blankets of hope
Bring hearts to heaven
As Mother Earth smiles
In deepness of faith

High, high above the sky
My strength is found
As I feel my journey
With the grace of love
A divine being that will always be

High, high above the sky
The sun is shining
Lighting my path
As every step
Breathes new possibilities to life

High, high above the sky
Freedom is alive
Kissed in passions
For I am that I am
And I am me

Kili 108 - day 6The summit of Mount Kilimanjaro
on 9th August 2014

In love and light,
Lisa

 

 

 

12 comments

  1. Writing to Freedom · August 11, 2015

    Congrats Lisa. You have indeed journeyed far in finding your courage, faith, dream and persistence. Many qualities that I find elusive, maybe from not having a clear dream or path. I’m glad you took the time to breath it in and celebrate! hugs, Brad

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lisa C · August 11, 2015

      Thank you Brad. I have really valued your support since stepping out into the blogging world. Love and blessings, Lisa

      Liked by 1 person

      • Writing to Freedom · August 11, 2015

        Thanks Lisa. And I’ve really enjoyed the fun writing of your previous blog and now your heartfelt sharing of your journey. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa C · August 11, 2015

        Aww thanks Brad. It was a big decision to start again… feels so right and more authentic to who I’ve become through this journey 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Writing to Freedom · August 11, 2015

        It’s important to honor your inner self. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa C · August 11, 2015

        🙂 ❤

        Like

  2. alexandrawritenow · August 12, 2015

    This sounds like an amazing journey! How wonderful that you felt inspired to write a poem in the clouds, sounds like a writer’s dream 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lisa C · August 12, 2015

      It really was! Even though I was exhausted and feeling the effects of the altitude, there was something about being surrounded by all those clouds that inspired the writer in me. Thank you for dropping by and following my blog. Have a good week 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. eyespider · August 13, 2015

    Hi on your page Lisa! This is a wonderful story, and really shows your determination even in the face of doubt. I always enjoy the generous positivity and gratitude you radiate!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lisa C · August 13, 2015

      Thank you so much Kate. Your words really moved me and I feel blessed to connect with you via our blogs ❤

      Like

  4. Deborah Moss · August 14, 2015

    Hi Lisa … you might want to pop on over to read my latest blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lisa C · August 14, 2015

      Hi Deborah I just had a look and posted a comment there. WOW!!! Sending so much love your way ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

