Ecuador’s Best Kept Secret

I am currently travelling in Ecuador on a dream holiday that I have been working towards for nearly 2 years. I can’t believe it’s really happening. It has taken a lot for me to get here but I am loving it.

What most people don’t know is that the original trip I planned was cancelled on me right at the last moment which left me devastated. During that time I felt so lost and unsure of my next steps. It made me question everything and I wondered whether I would be going at all. It really tested my faith but I knew I had a choice… I decided to trust exactly like I had done in the last 2 years.

As I allowed myself to be guided, it led me to a company that created personalised itineraries in South America and it happened so easily I knew this was it. My excitement was back! I literally had one week to bring it all together and I went for it.
That’s all I can say is that the experiences I have had so far is beyond anything I could have imagined or planned for myself. Life is like that sometimes.

It led me to the most beautiful place on the first part of my trip… El Monte Sustainable Lodge in Mindo, right in the heart of the Cloud Forest. This place has deeply touched my heart and it’s all thanks to the most charming couple, Tom and Marriela who built and created this lodge. I am so inspired by their dedication and the love they have put into it. You can feel it when you get here.

This place is like no other. Firstly you have to cross a river via a cable car to get to the lodge. I screamed like a girl when I crossed for the first time, which made me laugh. Now I’m used to it and it’s such a cool part of the experience.

The lodge itself is paradise – a place to unplug and really appreciate what nature has to offer, to go back to simplicity in the best way and to connect. You have views of the Cloud Forest all around you, nearby nature trails leading to amazing waterfalls, as well as a choice to see THE Cock of the Rock. Yes that name really exists and it’s a famous bird in this area.

I love the surrounding sounds of nature. It gives you time to relax and hear yourself think. It inspired me to want to write this blog post and to not worry about how it would be received. Expression is art in so many different ways. The cabin I am residing in and the entire place itself is living proof of what is possible when you move towards your dreams.

Always believe in yourself and know that anything is possible. And if life takes you on a detour, no matter how big or small, please don’t be discouraged.

Had my original planned trip to Ecuador not been cancelled I wouldn’t be where I am today… absolute paradise (I’m sure there’s a metaphor here somewhere).

The best part of the lodge for me is the food (surprise, surprise). It is out of this world and some of the BEST food I ever tasted. They use fresh ingredients mostly from their own garden and you can tell. I feel very nourished by it and it has been just what I needed since I have been unwell before arriving at this lodge. The food is so good I will probably be dreaming about it for a long time to come. Life is delicious!

With love from Ecuador,

Lisa

7 comments

  1. Deborah Moss · October 1, 2016

    Loved reading about your experience Lisa and the place looks and sounds amazing. So happy that this detour led to something so magnificent. Enjoy!

    Like

  2. Writing to Freedom · October 1, 2016

    Kudos Lisa on your trip, courage, trust and passion! I look forward to hearing and seeing more about this trip.
    happy travels…. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. eyespider · October 1, 2016

    That looks amazing! I’m glad you were open to impulse. In my life I’ve found some things are like catching a wave, if you’re in the right place at the right time, the right thing happens and it seems almost effortless. Happy travels!

    Like

Leave a Reply

