Living Life on the Icelandic Edge…

20170901_152314

Wow, wow, wow… it’s been a pretty crazy week!! I have been and come back from Iceland in my first charity trek and just arrived home today. I am still taking everything in after flying back. It has been an epic journey travelling through the most diverse landscapes in such a short space of time and I feel so lucky for the experiences I had in Iceland. There was joy, there was laughter, many moments when I struggled to put one foot in front of the other and then of course my not so great morning moments but this is what it is all about. This is life and all the facets of change that come with it.

This trek pushed me so far from my comfort zone that it took me on the edge and I mean that in literal sense when I say this.

Me being me, I didn’t realise what some of the hiking trail would entail. However this probably worked in my favour in that I didn’t have time to procrastinate about it and I had to just do it. There was no turning back! In a lot of ways the trail reminded me of walking on Mount Kilimanjaro three years ago and I thought if I could get through that then I could do anything. Still I was filled with fear when I was presented with what could have been a life and death situation.

There was a section called the Cat’s Spine in which you had to cross a very rocky ridge with a massive drop on either side. My palms were sweating and my heart rate was going so fast at the thought of crossing it. I was calling in my Spirit Guides, angels and every deity possible at that point to protect me and all the other people in our group doing this. This really took ‘feel the fear and do it anyway’ to a new level. I felt fortunate for the amazing group of people I was trekking with and together we conquered it and motivated each other throughout the trek. This to me was the best part… meeting new friends in this shared experience and to be able to laugh about it for years to come.

When you allow yourself to step outside your comfort zone, it’s where the magic begins

I was so relieved when I made it to the other side of the Cat’s Spine. It made me think about how life can be risky and you always have a choice to move forward no matter what life presents to you and to know that you are not walking any of it alone. The views were absolutely spectacular and looked like something out of a movie.

The mountains of magnificence bring a new perspective and new way of seeing things. You begin to realise that there is no point of sweating the small stuff and in the grand scheme of things that’s all it is… stuff. When we live with aliveness in our hearts, this sense of beauty and magnificence lives in our very veins and we can share that light to help others along the way and make a difference. We each have that capacity in our own unique way.

20170901_151420.jpg

With all the uphills and struggles, I thought it was over until we had to cross another section which filled me with even more fear and presented what could have been another life and death situation. This time I had to hold onto a chain to cross to the other side of this cliff as the path was so narrow. This was worse than the Cat’s Spine and the Barranco Wall on Mount Kilimanjaro. My hands were shaking as I crossed and held onto the chain for dear life. I laugh thinking about it. Not at the time of course. I have to say it was all worth to it travel across volcanoes, glaciers and snow.

Again I was reminded at the fact we are never alone when I took the picture below and saw a white feather in the sky. This made me smile and to remember my strength after recovering from illness that changed the entire course of my life. To think that I was in so much pain before for a number of years I could hardly walk to now being able to do these incredible things is a miracle in itself.

20170901_143905

“Water is the most perfect traveller because when it travels it becomes the path itself!” (Mehmet Murat Ildan)

I also had the blessing of witnessing and seeing lots of great waterfalls on this trail. They were spectacular and walking along hearing the sound of the water was so soothing. The path we walked was filled with such soul and life-force energy. I loved every moment of it. I can still feel it now.

20170902_100120.jpg

It’s time to rest now for a few days until the training starts again for the next adventure. Long may they continue!

Blessings,

Lisa

 

7 comments

  1. Writing to Freedom · September 4

    Kudos on facing your fears and moving forward Lisa. Your passion for life, this trip, and living fully are very inspiring. Thanks for sharing your adventures. See you at the top! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. kethuprofumo · September 4

    Awesome, dear Lisa! What a rich experience! What wonderful considerations & conclusions! Great! You’re brave & bold! Keep on moving! And any mountains will be yours!
    Best wishes,
    Maria 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

